Posted in Uncategorized

Surreal

I feel like I walked into a different world in the space of a couple weeks that felt like an eternity.

I could read the signs as well as anyone.

My hospital has air locks.

And a “Radiology Patient Holding Area”.

They won’t do standard x-rays on a patient with osteoporosis who has fallen because their x ray machines are contaminated.

Necessary but spooky as all hell.

Author:

Hufflepuff. Came from the redwoods, which tell me who I am and where I belong in the world. I relate to objects as if they are alive, but as things with identities and properties all of their own, not as something human-like. Culturally I'm from a California Okie background. Crochet or otherwise create constantly, write poetry and paint when I can. Proud member of the developmental disability self-advocacy movement. I care a lot more about being a human being than I care about what categories I fit into.

One thought on “Surreal

  1. The whole world has changed very quickly. If you were the person who fell then I hope nothing is broken and that you’ll be safe.

    Unrelatedly, I saw a science article recently that I thought you’d like, about rhinos using red-billed oxpeckers as seeing-eye birds. The birds eat parasites off of the backs of the rhinos and warn them if anything dangerous is approaching, like humans, because rhinos don’t see very well: https://www.sciencenews.org/article/oxpecker-birds-warn-endangered-black-rhinos-people-near-poaching

    Liked by 1 person

Comment here. Please remember you're a guest here just as if you were a guest in my house, and try to treat me and other commenters accordingly. Comments are moderated and may take time to appear.